Proprietary data

Data Center Power & Policy in France

Every government action on data centers and power in France that we have verified: moratoriums, grid rules, incentives, tariffs and plans, with the power indicators that drive site selection.

In short

As of 8 October 2026, DC Market Insights tracks 9 government actions on data centers and power in France, 4 of them in force. We have found no moratorium or restriction on new data centers in force in France. 1 incentive scheme applies: Loi n° 2026-403 de simplification de la vie économique: data centres eligible for projet d'intérêt national majeur (art. 35).

9Actions tracked
4In force
104 USD/MWhIndustrial power price
27%Renewable share of generation

Market snapshot

France power and policy: key facts

  • Industrial electricity price: 104 USD/MWh (2025). Rank 8 of 12 tracked countries, highest first.
  • Renewable share of electricity generation: 27% (2025). Rank 8 of 16 tracked countries, highest first.
  • Grid emission factor: 0.02 kgCO2/kWh (2025). Rank 12 of 12 tracked countries, highest first.
  • Latest change: Loi n° 2026-403 de simplification de la vie économique: data centres eligible for projet d'intérêt national majeur (art. 35) (Parlement / Conseil constitutionnel, 26 May 2026).
  • By type: 3 plan or strategy, 2 efficiency rule, 1 incentive and 1 grid access.

Power indicators for France

Latest official figure for each indicator, with earlier years where we have them.

Industrial electricity price 104 USD/MWh 2025 · Eurostat nrg_pc_205, band MWH20000-69999, excl. VAT: mean of 2025-S1 0.0995 and 2025-S2 0.0853 = 0.0924 EUR/kWh = 92.4 EUR/MWh; converted at Eurostat ert_bil_eur_a 2025 1.1300 USD/EUR 2024: 119 USD/MWh Eurostat
Renewable share of electricity generation 27% 2025 · RTE Bilan électrique 2025, renewable share of electricity production 2024: 27.8% RTE Bilan électrique 2025
Grid emission factor 0.02 kgCO2/kWh 2025 · RTE Bilan électrique 2025: average carbon intensity of production 19.6 gCO2eq/kWh = 0.0196 kgCO2/kWh (direct; lifecycle 29.0 g) 2024: 0.02 kgCO2/kWh RTE Bilan électrique 2025
Peak electricity demand 88.0 GW 2025 · RTE Bilan électrique 2025: 2025 consumption peak 88 GW (date not stated) RTE Bilan électrique 2025

In force now in France

Grid access (1)

  • Grid accessIn force

    CRE-approved electrical capacity pre-reservation procedure (fast-track connection) for high-power sites

    A procedure to pre-reserve electrical capacity at the State's request was approved by CRE in May 2025, allowing accelerated grid connection (3 to 4 years) for high-power sites (>400 MW) identified as fast-track. The DGE guide states four of the identified data centre sites benefit from it. (source gives month only)

    400 MW minimum site power

    Commission de régulation de l'énergie (CRE) / RTE · DGE / Business France – Guide implantation de centres de données

Incentive (1)

  • IncentiveIn force

    Loi n° 2026-403 de simplification de la vie économique: data centres eligible for projet d'intérêt national majeur (art. 35)

    Article 35 of the law inserts a paragraph I bis in article L. 300-6-2 of the code de l'urbanisme allowing a data centre, by its purpose and scale, to be qualified by decree as a project of major national interest. The Conseil constitutionnel found it compliant on 21 May 2026; the law was promulgated 26 May 2026.

    Parlement / Conseil constitutionnel · Conseil constitutionnel – Décision n° 2026-903 DC

Efficiency rule (2)

  • Efficiency ruleIn force

    PUE target of 1.20 by 2030 for the largest data centres under the tertiary-sector decree

    The DGE guide states the largest data centres (over 10,000 m2) have a PUE target of 1.20 in 2030 set by the tertiary-sector decree (éco-énergie tertiaire, loi ELAN). It also cites the EU rule that new data centres above 1 MW must reuse waste heat unless technically or economically impossible.

    1.2 PUE target (2030) date is the guide's publication month (November 2025, source gives month only); the guide does not state the decree's date.

    Ministère de la Transition écologique (décret tertiaire), cited by DGE · DGE / Business France – Guide implantation de centres de données

  • Efficiency ruleIn force

    Annual energy and water performance reporting by large data centres under the EU Energy Efficiency Directive

    Since 2023, large data centres in France must report their energy and water performance indicators to the European Commission every year, under the energy efficiency directive. The DGE page states no kW threshold. (source gives year only)

    European Union / Direction générale des Entreprises (DGE) · Direction générale des Entreprises (entreprises.gouv.fr)

Announced and proposed

Measures that are not yet in force. Status changes when the rule takes effect or is withdrawn.

  • Plan or strategyAnnounced

    Guide to siting data centres and 63 sites identified (DGE and Business France)

    The DGE and Business France guide published in November 2025 (source gives month only) states 63 sites suitable for data centres were identified and announced at the Choose France 2025 summit, following a task force set up in early 2025 under the Paris AI Action Summit. It advises targeting sites easily connected to the grid.

    63 sites

    Direction générale des Entreprises (DGE) / Business France · DGE / Business France – Guide implantation de centres de données

  • Plan or strategyProposed

    RTE Schéma décennal de développement du réseau (SDDR) orientations

    RTE's network development plan (SDDR) orientations, published 13 February 2025, cover connecting new consumers including factories, data centres and electrolysers. A public debate ran from 4 September 2025 to 14 January 2026; RTE has not yet published the final version, which is still under review (CRE opinion February 2026, environmental authority referral 30 July 2026).

    RTE (Réseau de transport d'électricité) · RTE

  • RegulationAnnounced

    Announced acceleration of permitting for data centre projects (PINM extension, CNDP scope, litigation)

    The 6 February 2025 press kit states PINM status (then excluding data centres) should soon be extended to large data centre projects, the CNDP public-debate scope will be revised to exclude data centre projects, and litigation against data centre projects will be simplified (including removing the double degree of jurisdiction), with an expected gain of 9 to 18 months. The PINM part was later enacted by article 35 of Loi n° 2026-403 of 26 May 2026 (see PP-FR-009); no opened source shows the CNDP or litigation measures were enacted.

    Comité interministériel de l'Intelligence artificielle (Premier ministre) · Gouvernement – info.gouv.fr (dossier de presse)

  • Power tariffAnnounced

    Electricity tax reduction of EUR 10.5/MWh for large data centres

    The government press kit of 6 February 2025 lists, among incentives for electro-intensive users, a tax reduction of EUR 10.5/MWh for large data centres, subject to conditions including environmental performance.

    10.5 EUR/MWh tax reduction Press kit lists it under 'Incitations gouvernementales pour les utilisateurs électro-intensifs' with no law, article or date. The DGE guide (Nov 2025) does not mention any electricity tax, accise or reduced rate for data centres, so no opened source confi

    Comité interministériel de l'Intelligence artificielle (Premier ministre) · Gouvernement – info.gouv.fr (dossier de presse)

  • Plan or strategyAnnounced

    35 sites identified in metropolitan France for data centre projects (Faire de la France une puissance de l'IA)

    The Comité interministériel de l'IA press kit of 6 February 2025 lists 35 sites in metropolitan France suited to data centres by energy, land and availability. Its infographic shows 'jusqu'à 1 GW' and '1 200 ha' without saying whether these are per-site or total figures; site areas range from 18 to 150+ ha, grid connection is possible from 2027, and a dedicated task force supports projects. It states 5 GW of data centre capacity is already being connected.

    35 sites

    Comité interministériel de l'Intelligence artificielle (Premier ministre) · Gouvernement – info.gouv.fr (dossier de presse)

Timeline of data center and power policy in France

DateActionTypeStatusAuthority
26 May 2026Loi n° 2026-403 de simplification de la vie économique: data centres eligible for projet d'intérêt national majeur (art. 35)IncentiveIn forceParlement / Conseil constitutionnel
1 Nov 2025PUE target of 1.20 by 2030 for the largest data centres under the tertiary-sector decreeEfficiency ruleIn forceMinistère de la Transition écologique (décret tertiaire), cited by DGE
1 Nov 2025Guide to siting data centres and 63 sites identified (DGE and Business France)Plan or strategyAnnouncedDirection générale des Entreprises (DGE) / Business France
1 May 2025CRE-approved electrical capacity pre-reservation procedure (fast-track connection) for high-power sitesGrid accessIn forceCommission de régulation de l'énergie (CRE) / RTE
13 Feb 2025RTE Schéma décennal de développement du réseau (SDDR) orientationsPlan or strategyProposedRTE (Réseau de transport d'électricité)
6 Feb 2025Announced acceleration of permitting for data centre projects (PINM extension, CNDP scope, litigation)RegulationAnnouncedComité interministériel de l'Intelligence artificielle (Premier ministre)
6 Feb 2025Electricity tax reduction of EUR 10.5/MWh for large data centresPower tariffAnnouncedComité interministériel de l'Intelligence artificielle (Premier ministre)
6 Feb 202535 sites identified in metropolitan France for data centre projects (Faire de la France une puissance de l'IA)Plan or strategyAnnouncedComité interministériel de l'Intelligence artificielle (Premier ministre)
1 Jan 2023Annual energy and water performance reporting by large data centres under the EU Energy Efficiency DirectiveEfficiency ruleIn forceEuropean Union / Direction générale des Entreprises (DGE)

How France compares

Latest official figures for the countries we track.

CountryIndustrial power priceRenewable shareGrid emission factorRestrictions in forceIncentives in force
Australia—39% (2025)—02
Bangladesh—2% (2025)—00
France104 USD/MWh (2025)27% (2025)0.02 kgCO2/kWh (2025)01
Germany180 USD/MWh (2025)58.8% (2025)0.34 kgCO2/kWh (2025)10
India82.1 USD/MWh (2025)28.7% (2026)0.68 kgCO2/kWh (2025)05
Indonesia62.9 USD/MWh (2024)16.3% (2025)0.68 kgCO2/kWh (2024)01
Ireland234 USD/MWh (2025)41.3% (2024)0.20 kgCO2/kWh (2025)20
Japan—23.1% (2024)0.45 kgCO2/kWh (2024)00
Malaysia105 USD/MWh (2026)21% (2025)0.74 kgCO2/kWh (2024)11
Netherlands148 USD/MWh (2025)49% (2025)0.20 kgCO2/kWh (2024)40
Pakistan97.5 USD/MWh (2026)34.7% (2025)—01
Singapore189 USD/MWh (2025)2.1% (2024)0.40 kgCO2/kWh (2024)00
South Korea—9.8% (2025)—00
United Arab Emirates120 USD/MWh (2026)8.8% (2024)0.47 kgCO2/kWh (2024)00
United Kingdom234 USD/MWh (2026)52.1% (2025)0.15 kgCO2/kWh (2026)11
United States86.2 USD/MWh (2025)24% (2025)0.35 kgCO2/kWh (2023)01

Questions

Is there a data center moratorium in France?

We have found no moratorium or restriction on new data centers in force in France as of 8 October 2026. Proposed or announced measures, if any, are listed in the timeline.

What incentives does France offer data centers?

In force: Loi n° 2026-403 de simplification de la vie économique: data centres eligible for projet d'intérêt national majeur (art. 35). Each is listed with its authority and dates on this page.

What does electricity cost for data centers in France?

The industrial electricity price in France was 104 USD/MWh in 2025 (Eurostat nrg_pc_205, band MWH20000-69999, excl. VAT: mean of 2025-S1 0.0995 and 2025-S2 0.0853 = 0.0924 EUR/kWh = 92.4 EUR/MWh; converted at Eurostat ert_bil_eur_a 2025 1.1300 USD/EUR). Data center contracts can differ by voltage level, contract length and location.

How much of France’s electricity is renewable?

Renewables supplied 27% of electricity generation in France in 2025.

Where does this data come from?

Each action comes from a page we opened: a law, regulation, gazette notice, ministry or regulator release, grid operator notice or investment agency page, and only when official text is not available a company or trade publication. A second analyst re-opens the source before an item is published. Government sources are linked on the page; all sources come with the Excel data.

What counts as a restriction or moratorium?

A government or grid operator rule that stops, pauses, caps or conditions new data center capacity or grid connections, for a country or a region within it. Proposals are shown as proposed until they take effect.

How are power prices compared?

We use each country’s official statistics for industrial or non-household electricity, converted to US dollars per MWh at the average rate for the year where needed, and show the year and source. Contract prices for data centers can differ.

How often is it updated?

Countries are reviewed on a rolling schedule and changes are added as they are announced. Each item shows the date of the action.

Choosing a market or a site?

Our analysts prepare country briefings on power, grid access, incentives and permits, with every source, in Excel.

Talk to an analyst