Proprietary data
Data Center Power & Policy in Singapore
Every government action on data centers and power in Singapore that we have verified: moratoriums, grid rules, incentives, tariffs and plans, with the power indicators that drive site selection.
In short
As of 8 October 2026, DC Market Insights tracks 9 government actions on data centers and power in Singapore, 5 of them in force. We have found no moratorium or restriction on new data centers in force in Singapore.
Market snapshot
Singapore power and policy: key facts
- Industrial electricity price: 189 USD/MWh (2025). Rank 3 of 13 tracked countries, highest first.
- Renewable share of electricity generation: 2.1% (2024). Rank 17 of 18 tracked countries, highest first.
- Grid emission factor: 0.40 kgCO2/kWh (2024). Rank 7 of 13 tracked countries, highest first.
- Latest change: SS 726:2026 Liquid Cooling in Tropical Data Centres (IMDA and Enterprise Singapore (Singapore Standards Council), 27 Aug 2026).
- By type: 4 efficiency rule, 3 restriction, 1 plan or strategy and 1 moratorium.
Power indicators for Singapore
Latest official figure for each indicator, with earlier years where we have them.
In force now in Singapore
Efficiency rule (4)
SS 726:2026 Liquid Cooling in Tropical Data Centres
Singapore Standard launched 27 Aug 2026, jointly developed by IMDA and Enterprise Singapore through the Singapore Standards Council, to help data centres adopt liquid cooling technologies in the tropics in response to AI workload energy demands.
SS 715:2025 Energy Efficiency of Data Centre IT Equipment
Singapore Standard launched 13 Aug 2025 setting out selection and operation of IT equipment for efficiency; aims to save IT equipment energy consumption in DCs by at least 30%, with IT equipment able to operate safely at up to 35°C. Complements the Tropical Data Centre standard SS 697:2023. The release does not state whether adoption is mandatory.
30 % IT energy saving target (at least)
BCA-IMDA Green Mark for Data Centre 2024 criteria (GMDC: 2024)
BCA and IMDA launched the Green Mark for Data Centre 2024 criteria on 18 Oct 2024, a significant update to the GMDC: 2019 criteria, with main emphasis on energy efficiency in DC operations plus intelligent systems, carbon reduction, health and well-being, resilience and maintainability.
Singapore Standard SS 564 Green Data Centres – Energy and environmental management systems
Singapore Standard for energy and environmental management systems in data centres, modelled on ISO 50001. First published in January 2011; revised as SS 564 Part 1 in 2013, with SS 564 Part 2 (guidelines) issued the same year. The IMDA page does not state whether adoption is mandatory. (source gives month only)
Plan or strategy (1)
Green Data Centre Roadmap: Charting green growth for data centres in Singapore
IMDA roadmap issued 30 May 2024 to provide at least 300 MW of additional DC capacity in the near term, with more via green energy deployments. Pushes DCs to PUE of 1.3 or lower, refresh of BCA-IMDA Green Mark for DCs by end-2024, standards for IT equipment energy efficiency and liquid cooling by 2025, the Tropical DC methodology, and grants (EDB Resource Efficiency Grant for Emissions, Energy Efficiency Grant for DCs).
300 MW additional capacity (at least) near-term additional DC capacity
Timeline of data center and power policy in Singapore
| Date | Action | Type | Status | Authority |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 27 Aug 2026 | SS 726:2026 Liquid Cooling in Tropical Data Centres | Efficiency rule | In force | IMDA and Enterprise Singapore (Singapore Standards Council) |
| 1 Dec 2025 | Second Data Centre – Call for Application (DC-CFA2) | Restriction | Expired | Singapore Economic Development Board (EDB) and IMDA |
| 13 Aug 2025 | SS 715:2025 Energy Efficiency of Data Centre IT Equipment | Efficiency rule | In force | Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA) |
| 18 Oct 2024 | BCA-IMDA Green Mark for Data Centre 2024 criteria (GMDC: 2024) | Efficiency rule | In force | Building and Construction Authority (BCA) and IMDA |
| 30 May 2024 | Green Data Centre Roadmap: Charting green growth for data centres in Singapore | Plan or strategy | In force | Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA) |
| 14 Jul 2023 | Four data centre proposals selected as part of pilot Data Centre Call for Application | Restriction | Expired | Singapore Economic Development Board (EDB) and IMDA |
| 20 Jul 2022 | Pilot Data Centre – Call for Application (DC-CFA) to support sustainable growth of data centres | Restriction | Expired | Singapore Economic Development Board (EDB) and IMDA |
| 1 Jan 2019 | Temporary pause on release of State land for data centres and DC development on existing State land | Moratorium | Expired | Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) |
| 1 Jan 2011 | Singapore Standard SS 564 Green Data Centres – Energy and environmental management systems | Efficiency rule | In force | Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA) / Singapore Standards Council |
How Singapore compares
Latest official figures for the countries we track.
| Country | Industrial power price | Renewable share | Grid emission factor | Restrictions in force | Incentives in force |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Australia | — | 39% (2025) | — | 0 | 2 |
| Bangladesh | — | 2% (2025) | — | 0 | 0 |
| France | 104 USD/MWh (2025) | 27% (2025) | 0.02 kgCO2/kWh (2025) | 0 | 1 |
| Germany | 180 USD/MWh (2025) | 58.8% (2025) | 0.34 kgCO2/kWh (2025) | 1 | 0 |
| India | 82.1 USD/MWh (2025) | 28.7% (2026) | 0.68 kgCO2/kWh (2025) | 0 | 5 |
| Indonesia | 62.9 USD/MWh (2024) | 16.3% (2025) | 0.68 kgCO2/kWh (2024) | 0 | 1 |
| Ireland | 234 USD/MWh (2025) | 41.3% (2024) | 0.20 kgCO2/kWh (2025) | 2 | 0 |
| Japan | — | 23.1% (2024) | 0.45 kgCO2/kWh (2024) | 0 | 0 |
| Kazakhstan | — | 14.6% (2025) | 0.81 kgCO2/kWh (2025) | 0 | 0 |
| Malaysia | 105 USD/MWh (2026) | 21% (2025) | 0.74 kgCO2/kWh (2024) | 1 | 1 |
| Netherlands | 148 USD/MWh (2025) | 49% (2025) | 0.20 kgCO2/kWh (2024) | 4 | 0 |
| Pakistan | 97.5 USD/MWh (2026) | 34.7% (2025) | — | 0 | 1 |
| Singapore | 189 USD/MWh (2025) | 2.1% (2024) | 0.40 kgCO2/kWh (2024) | 0 | 0 |
| South Korea | — | 9.8% (2025) | — | 0 | 0 |
| United Arab Emirates | 120 USD/MWh (2026) | 8.8% (2024) | 0.47 kgCO2/kWh (2024) | 0 | 0 |
| United Kingdom | 234 USD/MWh (2026) | 52.1% (2025) | 0.15 kgCO2/kWh (2026) | 1 | 1 |
| United States | 86.2 USD/MWh (2025) | 24% (2025) | 0.35 kgCO2/kWh (2023) | 0 | 1 |
| Uzbekistan | 83.3 USD/MWh (2026) | 19.4% (2025) | — | 1 | 0 |
Questions
Is there a data center moratorium in Singapore?
We have found no moratorium or restriction on new data centers in force in Singapore as of 8 October 2026. Proposed or announced measures, if any, are listed in the timeline.
What does electricity cost for data centers in Singapore?
The industrial electricity price in Singapore was 189 USD/MWh in 2025 (SP Group regulated High Tension Large tariff, peak period (7am-11pm) energy charge 24.70 SGD cents/kWh (excl. GST) = SGD 247.0/MWh; converted at 2025 average 1.3066 SGD/USD (SingStat/MAS). Excludes capacity charges; most large users are contestable and bu). Data center contracts can differ by voltage level, contract length and location.
How much of Singapore’s electricity is renewable?
Renewables supplied 2.1% of electricity generation in Singapore in 2024.
Where does this data come from?
Each action comes from a page we opened: a law, regulation, gazette notice, ministry or regulator release, grid operator notice or investment agency page, and only when official text is not available a company or trade publication. A second analyst re-opens the source before an item is published. Government sources are linked on the page; all sources come with the Excel data.
What counts as a restriction or moratorium?
A government or grid operator rule that stops, pauses, caps or conditions new data center capacity or grid connections, for a country or a region within it. Proposals are shown as proposed until they take effect.
How are power prices compared?
We use each country’s official statistics for industrial or non-household electricity, converted to US dollars per MWh at the average rate for the year where needed, and show the year and source. Contract prices for data centers can differ.
How often is it updated?
Countries are reviewed on a rolling schedule and changes are added as they are announced. Each item shows the date of the action.
Choosing a market or a site?
Our analysts prepare country briefings on power, grid access, incentives and permits, with every source, in Excel.
