Dataset · Site footprint · Updated 20 Oct 2026
- Sourced facts
- 882Each with source, quote and date
- Markets
- 23Countries and states
- Sites and companies
- 245Linked to the facility and operator records
- Distinct sources
- 294Primary and government first
Every value carries its source, a verbatim quote and the date it was true. No price is published: each request is scoped and quoted.
What is in the footprint dataset?
A data center footprint is the list of sites a company runs or uses in a market: where each one is, whether it is owned or leased in a colocation facility, whether it is live or still being built, how much power it has and how it is cooled.
Hyperscalers rarely publish their sites, their MW or their cooling design. The facts sit in planning files, environmental permits and grid decisions, one authority at a time. We collect them site by site, and where no figure is stated we say so or label our estimate with its method.
What is inside the dataset
One row per fact, linked by id to the facility, the operator and the market, so it joins with every other DC Market Insights dataset.
| Field | What it holds | Facts held |
|---|---|---|
| Site name | The site or campus building as the source names it. | 6 |
| Operator | The company that runs the site, linked to its operator profile. | 4 |
| Tenancy | Owned (self-build), leased in colocation (with the colocation operator and facility), joint venture or unknown. | 25 |
| Address | Street address or land parcel as stated in the source. | 115 |
| Latitude | From the source, else geocoded from the stated address. | 27 |
| Longitude | From the source, else geocoded from the stated address. | 27 |
| Location precision | Exact, parcel, business park or city. | 79 |
| Status | Operational, under construction, permitted or planned. | 122 |
| IT MW | IT load in MW, stated or labelled as our estimate with its method. | 54 |
| Facility MW | Total facility power in MW, stated or labelled as our estimate with its method. | 33 |
| MW basis | Stated IT, stated facility, or derived from a generator permit, a grid connection or floor area. | 57 |
| Cooling type | Air or free cooling, evaporative or adiabatic, chilled water with dry coolers or cooling towers, direct liquid, immersion or hybrid. | 67 |
| Cooling basis | Stated, from a design document, or inferred from a water permit. | 39 |
| Cooling vendor | Only when a source names it. | 1 |
| Expected live date | As the source states it, never our guess. | 10 |
| Confidence | Confirmed, partly, estimated or not disclosed. | 216 |
| Source, quote and date | The link, the exact words of the source and the date the value was true, on every row. | All |
Formats: Excel or CSV, one row per site with every field, its source, date and confidence, plus a coverage sheet per country.
Preview: five rows from the dataset
The five most recently checked facts. The full dataset holds 882 facts.
| Site or company | Market | Field | Value | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Red Oak Datacenter (Compass Datacenters DFW III) | Texas, United States | Address | On request | 27 Jun 2025 | Government record |
| CyrusOne SAT2 SAT3 SAT4 | Texas, United States | Address | On request | 17 Apr 2026 | Government record |
| QTS San Antonio | Texas, United States | Address | On request | 20 Oct 2026 | Company source, on file |
| QTS San Antonio | Texas, United States | MW basis | On request | 20 Oct 2026 | Company source, on file |
| QTS San Antonio | Texas, United States | IT MW | On request | 20 Oct 2026 | Company source, on file |
Where: coverage by market
| Market | Facts | Sites or companies | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Portugal | 40 | 10 | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Ireland | 40 | 12 | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Czechia | 40 | 8 | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Sweden | 40 | 7 | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Belgium | 40 | 9 | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Iceland | 40 | 8 | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Texas, United States | 40 | 18 | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Slovakia | 40 | 7 | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Switzerland | 40 | 12 | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Finland | 40 | 11 | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Italy | 40 | 12 | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Virginia, United States | 39 | 12 | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Norway | 39 | 12 | 20 Oct 2026 |
| United Kingdom | 39 | 7 | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Denmark | 38 | 14 | 20 Oct 2026 |
When: how often it is updated
Update cycle: Built one country at a time, Europe first; a client order moves its countries to the front. Earlier values are never overwritten, so you can see when a date moved or a figure changed.
Who uses it and for what
Equipment and cooling suppliers
Which sites are being built, how big they are and how they are cooled.
Colocation operators and developers
Where hyperscalers own, where they lease and how much.
Investors and lenders
Site-level capacity and status behind a company or a market.
Utilities and site selectors
Large loads by location and stage.
Why you can rely on it
- Primary sources first. We never copy data center directories, research publishers or press-release wires. This dataset is built from:
- Planning portals and planning decisions
- Environmental permits for generators and water
- Grid operator connection data and decisions
- Operator region pages, sustainability reports and filings
- The words and the date. Each value is stored with the source link, the exact sentence it comes from and the date it was true.
- A second, independent check. Every value is checked again against its source before it is stored. Values that cannot be confirmed are dropped.
- History, not overwrites. A new value is a new record, so changes in dates, MW and status stay visible.
- Our estimates are labelled. Anything we compute, such as a value per MW, is marked derived or DC Market Insights estimate.
How to get it
- 1Tell us the scopeMarkets, companies, sites or your own list, and the fields you need.
- 2Get the quoteScope, delivery date and price, usually within one business day.
- 3Receive the dataExcel or CSV with sources, quotes and dates, plus a gap list. Updates on request.
Tell us the markets, companies or projects you need and the fields that matter to you. We reply with the scope, the delivery date and a quote, usually within one business day.
Request a quoteFrequently asked questions
Where are hyperscaler data centers located?
Hyperscalers publish regions, not sites. Our dataset places each site from planning, permit and grid records, with the precision the source allows: exact, parcel, business park or city.
How do you know the MW when a company does not publish it?
Where no figure is stated we derive it from generator permits, grid connections or floor area, write each step in a method note and label it as our estimate. If none applies, the value stays not disclosed.
Why are the site details not shown on this page?
The site data is delivered to clients as a dataset, cut to the markets, companies and fields they need, with a source and date for every value.
Related datasets
Custom data
Need this for your own list of companies or sites?
Send the list. We match every name to the database, fill the fields you need with a source for each value, and return the gaps.
